Melbourne! A city of colours, wacky weather, arts, and shopping. And coffee. Obviously, coffee.

“I’ve been making coffee for seven years,” gloated a random guy on a tram, butting into my conversation with a random lady from Oklahoma. He wasn’t trying to impress me (it don’t impress me much anyway), but rather reminding me that if I wanted a coffee shop job (sorry, if I wanted to work as a barista), then I’d have to undergo extensive training.

I eavesdropped on a guy on yet another tram who was telling his friend that he makes $22 per hour and time and a half on Saturdays. This is for making coffee on a university campus.

They take their coffee seriously in Melbourne. And usually it’s pretty good.

I was too busy taking pictures of birds take any of my various coffees at various cafes. Even though New Zealand had some amazing birds that I’d never even heard of before (for instance), there’s something about seeing little green parrots walking around on the grass like sparrows and cockatoos hanging around on wires like pigeons.

Melbourne’s laneways=canvasses for its artists

Muck up day in Melbourne! That means celebrating finishing year 12 by dressing up as fruit and sitting in Fed Square.

Flowers (that are different from Canadian flowers) at the South Melbourne Market.

Kangaroo (and other) meat for sale. Hysterical sheep, morose cow.

Pretty houses in Albert Park (the neighbourhood, not the park) on the beach.

Luna Park, St Kilda.

Luna Park from closer.

Melbourne has loads of outdoor art (and “architectural features” along the highway)

Just a bird hanging out in the grass.

Just a bird hanging out in a flower.

