A day off at work means a day of adventure! Sort of.

After a month of living in the Australian bush, far from anything familiar except the feeling of being unsure I’m supposed to be the place that I am, I am at that stage where I have to remind myself to look around me and really try and appreciate what I find there.

For instance, it isn’t an everyday occurence in my regular life that I will be standing at a gravel cross roads, waiting for a little white school bus to stop and drive me to town, past beautiful hills of all sorts of colours, past two huge jacarandas and a flame tree, with a bunch of little kids in checked dresses and blue jumpers speaking with cute accents and quickly becoming my friends. Hi Zane!

This is where we wait for the school bus.

Gloucester town centre.

The street in Gloucester.

The pharmacy that didn’t have any contact lens solution.

The cafe where I spent the beginning and end of my day. Gloucester has several cafes and eateries that all seem to have an espresso machine. I appreciate this.

The post office, where I bought envelopes and stamps and sent things to people.

A view of the town and the Bucketts (mountains)

What I bought. Notice the chocolate to last a couple of weeks, tea tree oil because this place is making my face break out (it may be all the dust and cobwebs I’m dealing with and the sweat. But I think it’s the sunscreen. Or is it the chocolate?), and lack of contact lens solution and yoga mat. Huge Cadbury’s. Tiny Nutella.

Being in such a remote place, I realise that I’m learning things about myself. Unfortunately, they aren’t things I’m particularly proud of. Like I’m a bit more of a wuss than I thought. I thought I was tough. But a tick bite had me close to tears (I mean, I thought I had tick paralysis!). I realise I resent being dependent on others for anything. So even something simple like my boss buying me my food is awkward, so is getting driven 40 km to the clinic to check out my tick paralysis (not tick-related, in the end).

I realise I’m not as patient as I thought I was. Although my new Italian roommate makes a mean bolognaise, turns out I can become quickly frustrated with our 24/7 English lessons, which is only made worse by our different views on shower length(seriously, 45 minutes?!) and water usage (seriously, do you need to wash dishes twice?!)…

Turns out that if I’m going to be this remote and isolated, I’d rather be by myself. Or with a school bus full of shrieking kids.

