Germans travel. That means that throughout my own travels, I met a lot of really lovely German travellers. So it was a natural decision to go visit everyone once I got to Europe.

Unfortunately, with time ticking too quickly and train fares being a lot less affordable than I remembered, I only made it to a few cities to see a few people.

I took the train from Copenhagen to Hamburg. This is noteworthy because the train went on a ferry. The whole train! On a boat!

Also worth mentioning: German trains and railway services are not actually as efficient as the rest of the world assumes. For instance, when a train from Berlin to Kassel gets cancelled, any sign of it vanishes (they don’t include it on those departure screens- you have to figure it out). Luckily, when your replacement train is late and you think you’ll miss your connection (because now you have to connect in Hannover, seeing as your original train was cancelled), your connecting train is also late, so you end up having time for a pastry at the station before heading off again.

DSC08340

Student demonstrations in Hamburg include old folk singers and sofas.

DSC08378

Berlin is artsy. But the galleries are closed on the day you want to visit (in this case, Tuesdays).

DSC08389

Germany is all about breakfasts. Bread and breakfasts. And Nutella, juice, coffee, deli meats, cheeses of all kinds, and fruit. Now that I look at this picture again, I realise that this is dinner, not breakfast. Dinners are good too.

DSC08468

Cologne has a very famous cathedral, but they aren’t afraid to build big new buildings.

DSC08470

When Michele told me about the bridge with all the padlocks on it, I was blasée and all like “yeah, I’ve seen that.” But this bridge had a LOT of padlocks. The tradition apparently started in Florence. When students would graduate, they’d put their locker locks on the bridge and throw the key into the river. Somehow this has morphed into lovers locking the padlock to the bridge to represent everlasting being locked together.

DSC08469

There are many statues of many guys on many horses throughout Europe. This one is in Cologne (here with tram lines in the foreground).

DSC08409

Wild flowers in Kassel. I don’t think there are many things I love more than wild flowers. In Croatia, there were a couple of small raggedy donkeys in a padlock full of poppies. I loved that the most. But these are pretty stunning.

Many thanks to Soren, Larissa, Eric, Shelley, Art, Patrick, Amy, Sabrina, Johanna, Leo, and Michele for making my German adventures so comfy and fun.

Munich and Heidelberg, I’ll visit next time, promise!

