Every year, Ontario buildings open their doors so you get to explore places you’re usually not allowed to go. Or wouldn’t think to go. Or can only go under specific circumstances (like paying admission).

I started the morning with a walking tour led by the Theatre Museum of Canada where I learned a little bit more about downtown theatres (did you know YPT used to house horses that pulled streetcars?). Then I met my dad (and had a fancy lunch surrounded by fancy ladies wearing pearls and drinking martinis) and we joined the masses. We didn’t go into the Design Exchange because there was a line up.  But we went into Old City Hall, the Ontario Heritage Fund headquarters, the Bank of Commerce, and the Elgin and Wintergarden theatres.

Having been to both theatres before, I didn’t anticipate how magical it would be to wander around and take pictures (take pictures in a theatre! in a theatre!) It was magical indeed.

DSC02271

Inside the Wintergarden Theatre in Toronto.

DSC02276

Seats at the Wintergarden.

DSC02278

A view of the stage from the balcony.

DSC02281

The Eglin Theatre: where, in 1992, I realised I probably needed glasses during a performance of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat starring Donny Osmond.

DSC02283

If this was truly “Doors Open,” we’d be allowed in the box seats. Non, mais!

DSC02285

Theatre stairs. I got pretty excited taking pictures in a place you’re not supposed to take pictures, normally.

DSC02287

The Elgin: a theatre of contrasts. Black brick stage surrounded by glitzy glam red and gold.

